•  
    ALL ABOUT MRS. NOTA
     
    This is my tenth year teaching in Perth Amboy.  I taught 5th grade at Shull Middle School for 2 years, and this will be my eighth year in 4th grade. You may also recognize me by my maiden name, Ms. Fontana.  
     
     
    Below is a picture of my whole wonderful family and me at my wedding back in 2015. 
     
     family
    (From left to right, my younger sister Stephanie, my dad Steve, Me, my husband Tom, my mom Susi, and my older sister Laurel.)  
     

    In 2016 we added our puppy, Holland, to the family...

    Holland

    In February of 2017, my husband and I welcomed our first beautiful baby girl, Leighton, into the world.  

    Leighton    leighton
     
     
     
     And in January of 2020, we added baby girl Presley to the family.
     
     pres    
     
    swing
    I grew up in San Diego, CA with my amazing mom, dad, and two sisters.  I am the middle child!!!   As a kid, I began swimming competitively at age 5 and continued through college.  After getting a scholarship offer for swimming and academics at Rutgers University, I packed my bags and moved to New Jersey.  While at Rutgers I dedicated myself to swimming, majored in Sociology and became a member of the Rutgers Urban Teaching Fellows, while coaching swimming and teaching lessons on the side.  After 4 years of this very busy schedule, I graduated with my Bachelor's degree in 2011.  I went on to complete an additional year in the Graduate School of Education and received my Master's degree in Elementary Education with a Specialization in Middle School Mathematics in May of 2012. 
     
     
     
     
    Math is my favorite subject, and I am so excited that I get to share my love of numbers and problem solving with all of you.  I also love reading and writing, and cannot wait to share stories with all of you throughout the year!
    Aside from my passion for teaching, learning, and swimming below you will find some additional fun facts about me that you may find interesting!
     
    • Favorite Foods: Spaghetti and Ice Cream
    • Favorite Sport: Swimming 
    • Favorite Sports to Watch: Football and Soccer
    • Favorite Color:  Pink or Anything Sparkly
    • Favorite Book/Series: The One and Only Ivan and I Survived
    • Favorite Hobby: Cooking/Baking
    • Favorite Children's Movies:  Inside Out and Lilo & Stitch