• Apply now for a 2019 Mu Alpha Theta scholarship!


    High School Applications    


    Two Year College Applications 

    Completed applications must be postmarked by February 1, 2019. We will post all scholarship recipients' names to our website by 5pm CT April 1, 2019. Good luck to all applicants!

    Mu Alpha Theta and our Educational Foundation award $4,000 scholarships to our members every year. Any graduating high school senior or two-year college student who is an active member of a current Mu Alpha Theta chapter is eligible. Each chapter may submit applications for up to two members, at the chapter sponsor's discretion.

    The nominee should be an outstanding mathematics student and should have shown loyalty and dedication to his/her Mu Alpha Theta chapter, enthusiastically participating in local projects with evidence of service in mathematics.

    These four $5,000 scholarships will be awarded to top scholarship candidates:

    The Mary Rhein Memorial Scholarship

    The Mary Rhein Memorial Scholarship was named to honor Mary Rhein, a mathematics teacher from Ohio who was active in the National Mu Alpha Theta organization for 22 years. Mary believed that Mu Alpha Theta gives students who excel in mathematics an identity and a place to belong. She always encouraged her members to act as ambassadors for Mu Alpha Theta and she viewed competition as a dynamic way for students to use math concepts learned in the classroom.

    The Sallie Scudder Memorial Scholarship

    The Sallie Scudder Memorial Scholarship, supported by the Berkeley Math Club of 2000 – 2001, was named to honor Sallie Scudder, who taught calculus and softball at Berkeley Preparatory School from 1996 to 2002. She returned to teach at her alma mater, H. B. Plant High School, until her death at the age of 36. She was passionate about making a difference in the lives of her students and had a positive influence on everyone around her.

    The Paul R. Goodey Scholarship

    The Paul R. Goodey Scholarship was established to honor the former secretary-treasurer of Mu Alpha Theta who served from 2001-2014. Dr. Goodey, a University of Oklahoma George Lynn Cross mathematics professor, has always encouraged students to see the beauty and power of mathematics through research. The Paul R. Goodey Scholarship recipient is a student who has participated in a mathematics-related research project while a member of Mu Alpha Theta.

    NEW FOR 2018:

    The Kay Weiss Scholarship

    The Kay Weiss Scholarship was established to honor Mu Alpha Theta’s former executive director from 2003 to her retirement in 2016. Kay worked tirelessly to bring tremendous growth to our organization, and she had a special love for physics and astronomy. The Kay Weiss Scholarship recipient is a student who has demonstrated a commitment to promoting women’s participation in the STEM fields.

    Scholarship funds must be used within the first 18 months after the date the scholarship is awarded.